North Korea shells South Korean Island, Yeonpyeong-do

*I apologize for the varying text sizes. WordPress can be weird sometimes…and I don’t know how to change them back.

“I know not with what weapons World War III will be fought, but World War IV will be fought with sticks and stones.” – Albert Einstein

A couple weeks ago, North Korea shelled an island in my country. It may have been distant from the capital, Seoul, but it does not change the fact that the country that I live in, South Korea, was shelled, and that people died as a result of this heinous act.
<http://edition.cnn.com/2010/WORLD/asiapcf/12/15/south.korea.drill/index.html?hpt=T2>

I thought this was something relevant to write about because today was the day for nationwide civil defense exercises, held on the 15th of every month. These drills often go unnoticed by many people, including myself, and attract little attention. But the recent shelling has sparked interest and involvement; previously unheard of aircraft and nuclear damage prevention exercises were held. As a teenager myself it still didn’t interest me much, and instead I took a nap during the afternoon.

But what does disturb me are the ignorant kids (and sometimes even adults) who don’t know what they’re talking about. All around school, all over Facebook, all over the Internet all I see are kids saying things such as “Go to war and destroy North Korea” or “I’m bored. War sounds fun!” They and I have both not done our military service yet (which is pretty much required for all Korean male citizens), but at least I don’t say such unknowledgeable things.

They fail to consider the casualties war would bring. They’re not the ones who would fight if there was to be a war. They sit behind their computer screens, all excited about what would happen if war really did break out. They expect some kind of real life Call of Duty scenarios, but war in reality is nothing like that. Maybe when they complete their military service they’ll begin to understand what war truly is. Though it is unlikely, anything can happen. North Korea is unpredictable after all.


Leave a Reply

