What are you listening to right now?

Me? I am listening to “A Little Piece of Heaven” by Avenged Sevenfold. Why? My iTunes Library is on shuffle and this was the song playing. But there is a more significant reason. While listening to this song, I was reminded of the tragic death of the drummer in this band, Jimmy “The Rev” Sullivan”. He died on December 28th, 2009 at the age of 28.

The Rev was an amazing drummer. The first time I heard of this band was when I heard the song “Seize the Day” on the top charts. While I listened, it was not the guitar that caught my attention, nor was it the vocals. It was the drums. His playing style is truly one of a kind. In most songs he plays double base, meaning two base drums with both feet. Avenged Sevenfold is a hard rock/metalcore/heavy metal band with the occasional country style songs. Here is a video of my favorite Avenged Sevenfold (or A7X) song:

And here is the Rev himself, playing “Beast and the Harlot”. Intense drumming right there. It also features him using the double base at its max.

Embedding has been disabled by request (how lame) so here is the link:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YMUqJ5x7LuQ

I assure you, it is worth the watch.

To any rock & roll fans out there, give this band a listen!
R.I.P Jimmy “The Rev” Sullivan.

One response to “What are you listening to right now?

  1. You’re right! They are worth listening to. What’s going to happen to the band now?

Leave a Reply

